Bali Trip (January 2014) / A Loner’s Escape: Permission To Be Human

Even though this trip was planned impulsively, it turned out well and I’m glad I decided to do it. I had to cancel work in short notice and had to book everything in a rush but I had different kind of experiences because travelling by yourself means letting you find your true self.
***

Day 1 (January 25)

My flight arrived in Bali at 10 am and it took me about 45 minutes to reach the villa I rent. The villa is lovely, with a gazebo and pool, fast internet and and it’s owned by English/American young couple who work here. While waiting for the check-in time, we talked a bit and I admire their freedom of life. They work here in Bali as teachers. The guy is a scuba diving instructor and the girl is an English literature teacher in a school here. They have been here for only 6 months after they lived in India, Vietnam and Thailand for many years. What a full of travelling life!

I rented a scooter here for $7.5 per day. Was a good decision because without it I would spend heaps of money for cab fares. Driving here is much better than in Jakarta. Less stupid and crazy drivers, and the roads are in a much better condition.

And then I decided to get a balinese massage. As someone who does massage a lot, I could tell that the technique is different than massages I usually have. They used arm strength more than fingers. The massage was even cheaper than my usual, it was $5 per hour.

In the evening, I found out that a uni friend (who I also met in China) was also in Bali, so we decided to meet up and we ended up going clubbing with 6 other friends. I had fun dancing with friends and even random people. Once again I let long island iced tea won that night and finally went home at about 2 am. Passed out.
***

Day 2 (January 26)

Woke up fresh around 10, I showered and went to beach by scooter. Took me about 30 minutes driving one way. Originally wanted to go to Seminyak but I got lost to Kuta – which wasn’t worse. I had a small lunch because I got my gum aching. 😦 Will go to doctor once I get back to Jakarta. And then I decided to learn to surf! For the first time in my life, I tried surfing and managed to stand up a few times and slide with the waves. It was heaps of fun I will never forget. I ended up being friends with my instructor because I lost my contact lenses when I was surfing and I had him driving me back to villa. We had dinner and desserts together and he asked me to come for another lesson the next day for free.
***

Day 3 (January 27)
Back to surfing – free one. I did better than the day before. Managed to stand up for longer and till the end of the beach. Bought some souvenirs for friends and family back home after had lunch and while walking around the town with bikini. I also bought a toy for Mao-mao and Pumpkin. They loved it and went crazy for it. Back to villa around 3 pm and brought the scooter back, posting this post and will catch my flight at 11 pm.
***

About what I mentioned before, that by spending time travelling alone means you have big chance to find more about yourself, I found some points about myself:
#1 I am a free person. I can’t be pinned down. How to make me stay is to let me attach myself to you.
#2 I am very adaptable, easy to adapt to new things and place. Which is good, because it fits my travelling passion. I won’t travel just to stay in the hotel. I also learned that I have a good sense of direction so I will try to get to everywhere I can and I can take care of myself.
#3 brb

 

Leave a Reply

